Company News

Molex MX1.2 Connector Complete Guide: Pico-EZmate Specs, Circuits, Mated Height & the KONNRA KR1200 Equivalent

Quick answer: “Molex MX1.2” is the trade shorthand for the Molex Pico-EZmate 1.20mm-pitch wire-to-board connector system. It is a single-row, vertical-mating, low-profile connector available in 2 to 6 circuits, rated 1.5A per contact at 50V AC (RMS)/DC, accepting AWG #28 to #30 wire. Its headline number is height: the mated height is 1.55mm for 2- to 5-circuit versions and 1.65mm for the 6-circuit version. It uses a friction lock with an audible click, a polarizing key, and an open-top receptacle header designed for pick-and-place assembly. Molex specifies gold plating at 0.100µm minimum, contact resistance of 20mΩ max, insulation resistance of 100MΩ min, and dielectric withstanding voltage of 500V AC. The KONNRA KR1200 series is documented as the cross-reference equivalent, offered as a wafer, a housing and a crimp terminal.

At a glance

Common trade name Molex MX1.2 · Molex 1.2mm · “Pico-EZmate”
Official Molex product family Pico-EZmate (1.20mm) — distinct from PicoBlade (1.25mm)
Pitch 1.20mm
Configuration Single row, wire-to-board, vertical mating
Circuits 2 to 6
Mated height 1.55mm (2–5 circuits) · 1.65mm (6 circuits)
Current rating 1.5A max per contact
Voltage rating 50V AC (RMS)/DC max
Applicable wire AWG #28 to #30
Dielectric withstanding voltage 500V AC
Contact resistance 20mΩ max
Insulation resistance 100MΩ min
Operating temperature −40°C to +105°C
Plating Gold, 0.100µm min (mating and termination)
Housing material LCP, UL94V-0, black
KONNRA equivalent KR1200

Is “Molex MX1.2” the same as Pico-EZmate?

Yes. Molex does not sell a product called “MX1.2” — the string is trade shorthand built from the 1.20mm pitch, and it maps to the Pico-EZmate 1.20mm Connector System. Molex’s own product naming on the 1.20mm system is “Pico-EZmate”, and the mating header in Molex’s parts catalogue is the 78171 series.

The distinction that matters is PicoBlade versus Pico-EZmate. These are two different Molex families that get confused constantly because the names are almost identical and both are used in compact consumer electronics:

PicoBlade Pico-EZmate
Pitch 1.25mm 1.20mm
Trade shorthand “MX1.25” “MX1.2”
Configuration Wire-to-board and wire-to-wire Wire-to-board
Mating direction Horizontal or vertical Vertical
Contact design Two-point contact, friction lock Friction lock with audible click, polarizing key

They are not interchangeable, and 1.25mm is not 1.20mm. A PicoBlade housing will not mate with a Pico-EZmate header, and over a 6-circuit connector the 0.05mm pitch difference compounds across the contact field. Molex sells both; KONNRA cross-references both — as KR1200 for the Pico-EZmate 1.20mm and KR1250 (wire-to-board) / KR1251 (wire-to-wire) for the PicoBlade 1.25mm family.

Rule of thumb: on any Molex sub-2mm connector, confirm the pitch on the drawing before cross-referencing. Molex alone runs Pico-EZmate at 1.00mm, 1.20mm and 1.80mm, PicoBlade at 1.25mm, and Pico-Clasp at 1.00mm — and none of them mate.

What Is the Molex Pico-EZmate 1.20mm Connector?

The Pico-EZmate is a 1.20mm-pitch, single-row, vertical-mating wire-to-board connector designed for space-constrained applications. Molex positions it for miniature wire-to-board work where the board height, not the board area, is the binding constraint, and the system exists specifically to give designers a 1.55mm mated height without giving up a positive lock.

The connector mates vertically — the receptacle housing pushes straight down onto an open-top header — which is what makes it practical in thin enclosures where a horizontal cable exit will not fit.

Key characteristics:

  • 1.20mm pitch, single row — 2 to 6 circuits
  • 1.55mm / 1.65mm mated height — Molex describes this as ultra low-profile for the class
  • Vertical mating — Molex states this gives fast, fool-proof mating “without the possibility of wrong orientation or mismating”
  • Friction lock with an audible click — a secure friction lock between the receptacle housing and the header, plus an audible click that confirms mating has completed
  • Polarizing key — prevents mismating
  • Open-top receptacle header — snap-in mating for faster assembly
  • Open space on the header — accommodates pick-and-place nozzles, so the connector can go through an automated SMT line
  • Gold plating — 0.100µm minimum on the mating and termination areas
  • Embossed tape packaging — reeled for automated placement
  • 1.5A per contact at 50V — modest power plus signal on the same 1.2mm interface

A short glossary, because this series uses all four terms

  • Receptacle housing — the wire-side half. It holds the crimp terminals and mates down onto the header. Molex’s 1.20mm housings are the 78172 series (for example 781720003 is the 3-circuit housing).
  • Crimp terminal — the contact crimped onto the wire before it is inserted into the housing.
  • Header — the board-mounted half. On the 1.20mm Pico-EZmate this is the 78171 series header.
  • Mated height — the distance from the PCB surface to the top of the mated plug. This is the number that decides whether the connector fits inside a phone, a tablet or a GPS module.
  • Friction lock — retention by friction between the housing and the header, with no latch to release. Combined with the audible click, it is the primary retention mechanism on this series.
  • Pick-and-place — the automated nozzle that lifts a component and places it on the board. The “open space on header” feature exists purely so the nozzle has somewhere to sit.
  • UL3302 / UL1571 — UL cable styles. Molex cites UL3302 for the 1.20mm system’s applicable wire and UL1571 on its off-the-shelf assemblies.

Molex Pico-EZmate 1.20mm and KONNRA KR1200 Specifications

Parameter Molex Pico-EZmate 1.20mm (Molex documentation) KONNRA KR1200 (KONNRA documentation)
Pitch 1.20mm 1.20mm
Row configuration Single row Single row
Connection type Wire-to-Board Wire-to-Board
Mating direction Vertical Vertical docking
Circuits 2 to 6 2 ~ 7P
Mated height 1.55mm (2–5 circuits) · 1.65mm (6 circuits) Not stated
Current rating 1.5A max per contact 1.5A
Voltage rating 50V AC (RMS)/DC max 50V
Applicable wire AWG #28 to #30 (UL3302) AWG #28–#30 (1.2mm range)
Wire insulation diameter 0.60 to 0.70mm 0.75mm max
Contact resistance 20mΩ max. 20mΩ max.
Insulation resistance 100MΩ min. 100MΩ min.
Dielectric withstanding voltage 500V AC 50V AC / minute (see the note below)
Operating temperature −40°C to +105°C −40°C to +105°C
Housing material LCP, UL94V-0, black PA9T / LCP / Phosphor Bronze
Contact material Copper alloy Phosphor Bronze
Plating Gold, 0.100µm min. (mating and termination) Gold flash over nickel
Lock Friction lock with audible click Polarization key
Assembly features Open-top header, open space on header for pick-and-place Open-top socket head, open space for pick-and-place
Packaging Embossed tape Tape and reel (see package specification)
Mates with Pico-EZmate header, 78171 series KR1200 wafer
Standards RoHS; EU ELV not relevant; REACH SVHC not contained RoHS compliant

” — ” indicates the parameter is not stated in the manufacturer documentation reviewed for this guide. Confirm any blank against the current Molex datasheet and the KR1200 product specification before releasing a drawing.

Figure 1 — KONNRA KR1200 series: 1.20mm pitch Pico-EZmate wire-to-board connector

Figure 1 — KONNRA KR1200 series: 1.20mm pitch Pico-EZmate wire-to-board connector

➡️ View the KONNRA KR1200 MX1.2 (Pico-EZmate) Connector

Molex Pico-EZmate = KONNRA KR1200: Part Number Cross-Reference

Molex Pico-EZmate component Molex part number KONNRA equivalent
Receptacle crimp housing 78172 series781720003 (3 circuits), 781720004 (4 circuits), 781720005 (5 circuits), plus 2- and 6-circuit versions KR1200 housing
Receptacle crimp terminal Pico-EZmate receptacle crimp terminal KR1200 terminal
Board header (wafer) 78171 series is listed by Molex as the mating header for the 1.20mm Pico-EZmate receptacle assemblies KR1200 wafer
Off-the-shelf cable assembly 36920 series — Pico-EZmate-to-Pico-EZmate, 1.20mm pitch, single row, 50 / 100 / 150 / 600mm, 2 / 4 / 5 / 6 circuits Built to order

The three orderable components on the KONNRA side, each with its own page and drawing:

Component KONNRA page
Terminal KR1200 Terminal
Housing KR1200 Housing
Wafer KR1200 Wafer

How to read a Pico-EZmate part number

Molex uses two numbering patterns on this system, and they encode different things.

Housings and headers are eight-digit numeric part numbers (781720003), where the leading digits identify the series and the trailing digits identify the circuit count and packaging. 78172 is the receptacle housing series; 78171 is the header series.

Cable assemblies use a six-digit series number (36920) followed by a four-digit configuration code — 369200200 is a 2-circuit, 50.00mm Pico-EZmate-to-Pico-EZmate assembly, and 369200600 is a 6-circuit, 50.00mm assembly. The configuration digits encode length and circuit count, not just sequence.

What to do if your drawing shows a partial or unfamiliar number: send it anyway. KONNRA will confirm the pitch, the circuit count and the mating geometry against the Molex 1.20mm system before quoting, which is faster than you resolving it alone — and it is the step where most MX1.2 enquiries go wrong, because 1.20mm and 1.25mm part numbers look like neighbours and are not.

The Pico-EZmate Family: Three Pitches, Three Current Ratings

Molex uses “Pico-EZmate” as a family name across three different pitches with three different current ratings. If a drawing or a distributor listing says “Pico-EZmate” without a pitch, the current rating is not yet determined.

Variant Pitch Current Wire AWG Mated height
Pico-EZmate 1.20mm 1.5A 28 and 30 1.55mm / 1.65mm
Pico-EZmate Plus 1.00mm 2.8A 28 and 30 1.20mm
Pico-EZmate HC 1.80mm 5.0A 22 and 24

What this table tells you:

  • The standard 1.20mm part is the 1.5A one. “MX1.2” as a trade term maps here, and the KONNRA KR1200 is documented at the same 1.5A.
  • Pico-EZmate Plus is smaller and higher current. At 1.00mm pitch it carries 2.8A against the 1.20mm part’s 1.5A, and it has an improved withdrawal force. If your load is between 1.5A and 2.8A there is a Molex answer at a smaller pitch, not a larger one.
  • Pico-EZmate HC is the high-current version — 1.80mm pitch, 5.0A, on AWG #22 and #24 wire, with a dual locking system.
  • KONNRA’s published KR1200 covers the standard 1.20mm path. No Pico-EZmate Plus or HC equivalent is documented against KR1200, so a 2.8A or 5.0A requirement is a different conversation — tell us the current and we will tell you what is available rather than leave you to assume.

Mated Height: 1.55mm or 1.65mm — and Why It Decides Your Design

Molex specifies the 1.20mm Pico-EZmate at two mated heights:

Circuits Mated height
2 to 5 1.55mm
6 1.65mm

This is the specification that usually decides the design, and it is the one most often missed. The difference is 0.1mm, and it is the difference between a 6-circuit version fitting under an enclosure rib and not fitting. If your clearance budget was calculated from a 2-circuit prototype at 1.55mm, the 6-circuit production build is 1.65mm and your budget is already spent.

KONNRA does not publish a mated height for the KR1200. KONNRA’s product page describes an “ultra-low profile docking height” without giving a figure, so the number is not available from the KONNRA documentation reviewed for this guide. Given that this is the whole reason most designers choose a Pico-EZmate, it should be the first figure you confirm in writing — for the specific circuit count you intend to order, not the family in general.

➡️ Ask us to confirm the mated height for your circuit count

Circuit Counts: What Each Side Actually Offers

Circuits
Molex Pico-EZmate 1.20mm 2 to 6
KONNRA KR1200 2 ~ 7P (as documented)

Molex’s datasheet for the 1.20mm system states the connector is available “in 2- to 6-circuits”, and the housings and off-the-shelf assemblies in Molex’s catalogue follow that: housings are listed in 3, 4 and 5 circuits, and cable assemblies in 2, 4, 5 and 6 circuits. The KONNRA documentation states a range of 2 to 7 positions.

That is a one-position difference, and it is worth resolving before it reaches a drawing — either KONNRA offers a 7-position housing that Molex does not, or the range describes something else. Confirm the circuit count explicitly rather than assuming the ranges are the same.

Figure 2 — KR1200 housing for the 1.20mm Pico-EZmate interface

Figure 2 — KR1200 housing for the 1.20mm Pico-EZmate interface

➡️ KR1200 Housing

Specification Differences to Verify Before You Cross-Reference

Ten points deserve attention before you sign off an MX1.2 cross-reference.

  1. The dielectric withstanding voltage disagrees by a factor of ten — and KONNRA’s own page contradicts itself. Molex specifies the 1.20mm Pico-EZmate at 500V AC dielectric withstanding voltage. KONNRA’s specification table states 50V AC / minute. KONNRA’s Overview paragraph on the same page, however, says the connector “can also withstand voltage spikes of up to 500VAC/minute“. So the page carries two different figures for one parameter, and the row an engineer copies into a drawing — the specification table — is the one that disagrees with Molex. Note that 50V is exactly the KR1200’s rated voltage, which is the pattern you get when a withstanding-voltage row has been filled with the rating rather than the dielectric test value. If your qualification or your customer’s specification calls for a dielectric withstanding test, resolve this in writing before releasing the part.
  1. Circuit count: 2–6 on the Molex side, 2~7P on the KONNRA side. A one-position difference. Either KONNRA offers a 7-position housing that Molex does not, or the range describes something else. Confirm the exact count.
  1. Plating thickness is specified by Molex and not by KONNRA. Molex documents gold at 0.100µm minimum on both the mating and termination areas. KONNRA documents “Gold flash over nickel” with no thickness. Gold flash is a thin gold deposit rather than a full gold plating, and the two are not equivalent in thickness or in long-term contact stability. Ask for the thickness in microns if contact finish matters to your qualification.
  1. Mated height is published by Molex and not by KONNRA. Molex gives 1.55mm for 2–5 circuits and 1.65mm for 6 circuits. KONNRA describes an “ultra-low profile docking height” without a figure. Since height is the main reason this connector gets selected, confirm it for your circuit count.
  1. Wire insulation diameter is specified differently. Molex specifies wire insulation of 0.60 to 0.70mm. KONNRA documents 0.75mm max. Molex-compliant cable therefore sits inside the KONNRA window, but heavier insulation that would fail Molex’s specification still passes KONNRA’s 0.75mm figure. Pin the accepted dimension to the drawing for your specific assembly.
  1. The retention mechanism is described differently. Molex specifies a friction lock between the receptacle housing and the header, together with an audible click that confirms mating. KONNRA’s advantages describe a polarizing key and an open-top socket head — which mirror Molex’s own feature list — but the friction lock and the audible click are not stated. On a vertical-mating connector with no separate latch, the friction lock is the retention, so confirm it.
  1. Header geometry — vertical or right-angle. The standard Pico-EZmate 1.20mm receptacle mates vertically onto an open-top header; Molex lists the 78171 series as the mating header for its 1.20mm assemblies, and Molex’s 1.20mm header range also includes right-angle single-row headers (for example part series 202656). KONNRA documents its KR1200 wafer as a right-angle SMT type. Confirm which geometry your part number corresponds to, because the footprint and the mating direction both change.
  1. Mating durability is published by neither side. Molex’s feature list claims “secure contact for multiple cycles” but publishes no cycle count, and KONNRA publishes none either. On a 1.2mm connector that may be unmated for service, ask for a figure.
  1. Family coverage: only the standard 1.20mm path. No Pico-EZmate Plus (1.00mm, 2.8A) or Pico-EZmate HC (1.80mm, 5.0A) equivalent is documented against KR1200. If your load is above 1.5A, say so — the answer may be a different series rather than a different KR1200 variant.
  1. Stock cable assemblies versus build-to-order. Molex sells off-the-shelf Pico-EZmate assemblies in the 36920 series — 50, 100, 150 and 600mm lengths in 2, 4, 5 and 6 circuits. KONNRA builds harnesses to order. If you need a stock cable tomorrow, that difference matters as much as any electrical parameter.

Components and Configuration Options

The KR1200 is specified as three separately orderable components, each with its own product page — which is what lets the same series serve both connector-only and fully assembled orders.

Wafer (board-mounted header)

The board-mounted half. KONNRA documents the KR1200 wafer as a right-angle SMT type, 1.20mm pitch, single row.

Figure 3 — KR1200 right-angle SMT wafer

Figure 3 — KR1200 right-angle SMT wafer

➡️ KR1200 Wafer

Check the mating direction against your design. The standard Pico-EZmate 1.20mm system mates vertically onto an open-top header. If your board and your enclosure clearance were calculated for vertical mating, confirm that the wafer geometry matches before you commit to a footprint.

Housing

The wire-side half, carrying the crimp terminals and mating onto the header. Material is PA9T / LCP rated UL94. Shown in Figure 2 above.

➡️ KR1200 Housing

Terminal

The crimp contact, tin or gold finished, documented with 0.75mm max insulation outside diameter.

Before you specify this terminal, confirm two things — the plating thickness in microns, and the accepted wire insulation diameter against your actual cable. Molex specifies wire insulation of 0.60–0.70mm and gold plating at 0.100µm minimum; the KONNRA documentation states 0.75mm max insulation and a gold flash finish without a thickness.

Figure 4 — KR1200 crimp terminal

Figure 4 — KR1200 crimp terminal

➡️ KR1200 Terminal

Figure 5 — KR1200 1.20mm pitch housing detail

Figure 5 — KR1200 1.20mm pitch housing detail

Series documentation

➡️ Request drawings for your specific circuit count and mounting geometry

Crimp Contacts, Applicable Wire and Tooling

Item Molex Pico-EZmate 1.20mm specification
Applicable wire AWG #28 to #30
Cable style (connector system) UL3302
Cable style (off-the-shelf assemblies) UL1571
Wire insulation diameter 0.60 to 0.70mm
Contact material Copper alloy
Contact plating Gold, 0.100µm min (mating and termination)
Packaging Embossed tape

A note on wire selection. AWG #28 is the gauge at which Molex rates the full 1.5A. AWG #30 is inside the system’s applicable range but is not the gauge the 1.5A figure was established with, so if your harness uses #30 and you are running close to the rating, confirm the figure for that gauge rather than assuming the family number applies unchanged.

Tooling. Molex publishes its own crimp tooling for the Pico-EZmate system; KONNRA does not document crimp tooling against the KR1200 terminal. If you build harnesses in-house, ask which applicator and press the KR1200 terminal is validated against — that single question avoids most of the rework on a 1.2mm pitch crimp.

➡️ Ask which tooling the KR1200 terminal is validated against

What the Molex Pico-EZmate Is Used For

Molex lists this system’s markets as notebooks, mobile phones, e-books, portable navigation devices (PND), MP3/MP4 players and other compact mobile devices, and lists its industries as Automotive (GPS), MedTech (measuring equipment), Mobile Devices (mobile phone and tablets) and Networking (data termination equipment).

Application Why the Pico-EZmate fits
Mobile phones and tablets 1.55mm mated height with vertical mating suits thin enclosures where a horizontal cable exit will not fit
Notebook PCs A Molex-listed primary market; 1.5A covers internal signal and low-power runs at a small board footprint
E-books, MP3/MP4 players, portable audio Molex-listed; the open space on the header keeps automated placement practical on dense boards
Portable navigation devices and GPS modules Molex lists automotive GPS; the −40°C to +105°C range covers under-dash and in-cabin temperature swings
Medical measuring equipment A Molex-listed MedTech application; supported by KONNRA’s ISO13485 medical device quality system where the product falls in that scope
Networking and data termination equipment A Molex-listed networking application, where the low profile helps with dense rack-front boards
Any compact device where board height, not board area, is the constraint Vertical mating removes the cable-exit height that a horizontal connector needs
Battery and low-power connections in handheld devices 1.5A at 50V on AWG #28–30 is enough for a battery-seat or low-power rail on a handheld

What it is not for. It is not a high-current connector. At 1.5A per contact the Pico-EZmate is a signal and low-power interface, and the Molex answer above that is a different pitch — Pico-EZmate Plus at 1.00mm for 2.8A, or Pico-EZmate HC at 1.80mm for 5.0A — not a bigger version of the 1.20mm part. If your design needs more than 1.5A on a 1.2mm interface, that is a hardware decision, not a sourcing one.

Cable assembly options

KONNRA builds assemblies on the KR1200 interface in the standard harness configurations:

Cable type Description Typical use
Single-headed Housing on one end, bare wire leads on the other Pigtail from a board header to a termination block
Same-side-head Housing on both ends, same orientation Extending a run between two boards
Reverse-side-head Housing on both ends, reversed orientation Routing a harness through a hinge or fold
Adapter and transition cables KR1200 on one end, another interface on the other — for example Pico-EZmate to PicoBlade 1.25mm, or Pico-EZmate to JST SH 1.00mm Where one board uses a 1.20mm header and the other end does not

Adapter harnesses are the most common MX1.2 request, because the 1.20mm, 1.25mm and 1.00mm families coexist in the same products and none of them mate. Converting has to happen in the cable, and the cable has to be built to the tighter of the two pitches.

Note the ordering model difference. Molex sells off-the-shelf 1.20mm assemblies in 50, 100, 150 and 600mm lengths in 2, 4, 5 and 6 circuits. KONNRA builds to order, which is slower for a stock-length part and faster for anything non-standard — a specific length, a specific harness configuration, or a transition to another series.

Connector lead time is typically 2–3 weeks; wiring harness lead time is typically 3–4 weeks.

➡️ Explore KONNRA wiring harness capabilities

Pico-EZmate 1.20mm vs the Connectors It Gets Confused With

Sub-2mm connectors from three manufacturers look alike in a photo and share nothing electrically. This table is the “which one do I actually have” map.

Connector system Pitch Current Voltage Wire KONNRA equivalent
Molex Pico-EZmate 1.20mm 1.5A 50V AWG 28–30 KR1200
Molex Pico-EZmate Plus 1.00mm 2.8A AWG 28–30
Molex Pico-EZmate HC 1.80mm 5.0A AWG 22–24
Molex PicoBlade 1.25mm 1.0A 125V AWG #26–32 KR1250 / KR1251
JST ACH 1.20mm KR1201
JST SH 1.00mm 1A 50V AC/DC AWG 32–28 KR1000
JST ZH 1.50mm 1A 50V AC/DC AWG 32–26 KR1501

” — ” means the parameter is not verified from that manufacturer’s own documentation for this guide. Every figure shown is taken from the maker’s published data.

Three things this table settles:

  • “1.2mm” does not identify a connector. Molex’s Pico-EZmate and JST’s ACH are both 1.20mm pitch and are different systems with different housings and different headers. KONNRA cross-references them as KR1200 and KR1201 respectively — two different parts for the same pitch.
  • “PicoBlade” is not “Pico-EZmate”. 1.25mm versus 1.20mm, wire-to-wire as well as wire-to-board on the PicoBlade side, and a different contact design. This is the single most common naming error on the MX1.2 enquiry.
  • Molex’s own family moves in both directions. Going up in current on the Pico-EZmate family means going down in pitch (Plus, 1.00mm) or up in pitch (HC, 1.80mm). There is no 1.20mm Pico-EZmate rated above 1.5A.

Sourcing the Molex Pico-EZmate: What Procurement Teams Ask

Engineering decides that a connector will work. Procurement decides whether the supply chain around it is safe.

“Can you be a second source without changing our design?” That is what a documented cross-reference is for. The KR1200 is specified against the Molex Pico-EZmate 1.20mm system at component level — housing, terminal and wafer — with matching 1.20mm pitch and 1.5A rating. We confirm equivalence against your specific part number, because circuit count, header geometry and plating all change the answer.

“What are your lead times?” Connector production lead time is typically 2–3 weeks. Wiring harness lead time is typically 3–4 weeks. Key materials are prestocked.

“How long for samples?” Complete connector set samples can be delivered within 45 days. Where you need to validate crimp quality or a cable assembly before committing, sample harnesses can be supplied from the same process used in production — which matters most on a 1.2mm pitch crimp.

“What qualifications do you hold?” ISO9001, ISO14001, IATF16949, ISO45001:2018, ISO13485, IPC620, and UL product and operational safety certifications. Automotive-grade series additionally hold LV214 and US CAR-2.

“How do we know the parts match your documentation?” A CNAS-accredited laboratory with 45+ sets of precision testing instruments, with dimensional and electrical verification data available on request. 95% of production processes carry full-line intelligent visual CCD inspection; automotive series receive 100% CCD inspection.

“Are you a manufacturer or a trader?” A manufacturer. Dongguan Konnra Electronics Co., Ltd., founded 2004, with in-house mould design, injection moulding, stamping, assembly, and inspection — so the connector and the cable assembly come from one quality system.

“What volumes can you support?” KONNRA reported 2025 sales of RMB 310 million, with connectors at 60% and wiring harnesses at 40% of the product mix, across four production bases with automation coverage exceeding 95%.

“Who else buys from you?” KONNRA states that it serves global cooperative clients including BYD, Volkswagen, and DJI.

➡️ Request the vendor qualification pack — certificates, test capability summary, product drawings, and a sample plan in one enquiry.

How to Get a Cross-Reference Check on Your MX1.2 Part Number

Most MX1.2 sourcing enquiries stall on the same thing: the buyer is not sure what information the supplier needs, so the enquiry never gets sent. Here is the complete list.

Send us:

  1. The original Molex part number, if you have it — a housing such as 781720003, a header from the 78171 series, or a cable assembly such as 369200600
  2. Circuit count — and remember the Molex system is documented from 2 to 6
  3. Header geometry — vertical (the standard open-top mating) or right-angle. This decides the footprint
  4. Whether you need the connector only or a finished harness, and if a harness, the length and the far-end termination
  5. Wire specification — gauge and insulation outside diameter. Molex specifies AWG #28–#30 with insulation of 0.60–0.70mm, so the insulation diameter is not optional information on this series
  6. Your load current, not just the connector rating. If it is above 1.5A, tell us — the answer may be a different series rather than a KR1200 variant
  7. Application and annual volume, so configuration, tooling and packaging can be matched to your programme
  8. A drawing or photo, if the part number is unreadable or the design has been reverse-engineered

When you send a part number, we will confirm four things against Molex’s own documentation: the circuit count, the header geometry, the mated height for that circuit count, and the plating thickness you need. Those four are where an MX1.2 cross-reference most often goes wrong.

What you get back: a mapped KONNRA part number with the relevant product and engineering drawings, a specification comparison against your original part, and a sample and quote plan.

Engineer’s Pre-Release Checklist

Run this before you release a drawing for a 1.20mm Pico-EZmate-family connector.

  • Pitch measured, not assumed. 1.20mm is Pico-EZmate; 1.25mm is PicoBlade; 1.00mm is Pico-EZmate Plus, Pico-Clasp or JST SH. None of them mate.
  • Circuit count confirmed against the range both sides actually offer — Molex documents 2–6, KONNRA documents 2~7P.
  • Mated height confirmed for your circuit count — 1.55mm at 2–5 circuits, 1.65mm at 6 circuits. If your enclosure clearance budget was built from a prototype, re-check it against the production circuit count.
  • Dielectric withstanding voltage resolved in writing. Molex specifies 500V AC; the KONNRA specification table states 50V AC/minute while the KONNRA Overview text on the same page says 500V AC.
  • Plating thickness confirmed in microns. Molex specifies gold at 0.100µm minimum; KONNRA states a gold flash finish without a thickness.
  • Header geometry matched — vertical versus right-angle — and the PCB footprint checked against your part number.
  • Retention confirmed. Molex specifies a friction lock plus an audible click. On a vertical-mating connector with no separate latch, that lock is the whole retention budget.
  • Wire gauge and insulation diameter inside the specified window — AWG #28–#30, insulation 0.60–0.70mm per Molex.
  • Current derating checked against your actual gauge. 1.5A is the system rating established at AWG #28.
  • Mating durability confirmed if the connector will be re-mated in service — neither manufacturer publishes a cycle count.
  • Crimp tooling identified. Ask which applicator and press the KR1200 terminal is validated against before you build harnesses in-house.
  • Load current checked against the family limit. Above 1.5A, the conversation is Pico-EZmate Plus (1.00mm, 2.8A) or HC (1.80mm, 5.0A), not a larger 1.20mm part.

➡️ Send us your drawing. We will review it against the KR1200 specification and come back with any mismatch we find — before you commit tooling. Submit a drawing for review

Why Source MX1.2 Connectors from KONNRA

Dongguan Konnra Electronics Co., Ltd. (brand: KONNRA) was founded in 2004 and is a National High-Tech Enterprise specialising in connector and wiring harness research, development, production, and sales.

Manufacturing depth. A vertically integrated process covering precision mould design and manufacturing, automation design, precision injection moulding, stamping, assembly, and CCD visual inspection. Automation coverage exceeds 95% across production lines.

Testing and validation. A CNAS-accredited laboratory with 45+ sets of precision testing instruments, and CAE analysis — contact nonlinear analysis, material nonlinear analysis, motion simulation, thermal field analysis, and high-frequency analysis — performed in Ansys 2022 R1. Verification data is available on request.

Inspection coverage. Full-line intelligent visual CCD inspection covers 95% of production processes, using Mitsubishi and Panasonic PLC control systems with FA25–35mm optical lenses and 5-megapixel cameras. Automotive connector series receive 100% CCD visual inspection.

Quality systems. ISO9001, ISO14001, IATF16949, ISO45001:2018, ISO13485, IPC620, and UL product and operational safety certifications, with automotive-grade series additionally certified to LV214 and US CAR-2.

Capacity and delivery. Production bases in Dongguan Wangniudun (30,000 m², 350+ employees), Dongguan Changan (10,000 m², 150+ employees), and Hunan Daoxian (2,600 m², 100+ employees), with regional offices in Beijing, Chongqing, Hunan, Shanghai, and Kunshan. Key materials are prestocked, and complete connector set samples can be delivered within 45 days. KONNRA reported 2025 sales of RMB 310 million, with connectors at 60% and wiring harnesses at 40% of the product mix, and has served global cooperative clients including BYD, Volkswagen, and DJI.

Custom and joint R&D. Where a standard part does not fit — a non-standard harness length, a transition to another interface, or a specific plating requirement — KONNRA supports customer joint R&D customisation.

How to Identify Whether Your Connector Is a Pico-EZmate

If you are holding a connector and a drawing you cannot match, work through these in order:

  1. Measure the pitch. 1.20mm points at Molex Pico-EZmate or JST ACH. 1.25mm points at Molex PicoBlade. 1.00mm points at Pico-EZmate Plus, Pico-Clasp or JST SH.
  2. Count the positions. The 1.20mm Pico-EZmate is documented from 2 to 6 circuits. A 7-position 1.2mm connector is not a standard Molex Pico-EZmate.
  3. Measure the mated height. 1.55mm indicates a 2- to 5-circuit version; 1.65mm indicates the 6-circuit version. Both figures are measured from the PCB surface.
  4. Check the mating direction. The Pico-EZmate 1.20mm receptacle mates vertically onto an open-top header. A horizontal slide-on mating is a different system.
  5. Look for the audible click. Molex specifies a friction lock with an audible click. If the connector seats with no click and no friction feel, check the series.
  6. Look for the polarizing key on the housing and header. Its presence is consistent with the Pico-EZmate design.
  7. Read the part number if there is one. 78172 is the receptacle housing series; 78171 is the header series; 36920 is the off-the-shelf cable assembly series.

If you are still unsure, photograph the connector next to a ruler, with any part number markings visible, and send it to us. At this pitch the measurement identifies the family; the part number identifies the variant.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a Molex MX1.2 connector?

“MX1.2” is trade shorthand for the Molex Pico-EZmate 1.20mm-pitch wire-to-board connector system — a single-row, vertical-mating connector available in 2 to 6 circuits, rated 1.5A per contact at 50V AC (RMS)/DC, accepting AWG #28 to #30 wire, with a mated height of 1.55mm for 2- to 5-circuit versions and 1.65mm for the 6-circuit version.

Is Molex MX1.2 the same as Pico-EZmate?

Yes. Molex does not sell a product named “MX1.2” — the string is shorthand for the 1.20mm pitch, and it corresponds to the Pico-EZmate 1.20mm Connector System.

What is the difference between PicoBlade and Pico-EZmate?

Pitch and configuration. PicoBlade is 1.25mm and covers both wire-to-board and wire-to-wire; Pico-EZmate is 1.20mm and is wire-to-board with vertical mating. The trade shorthands are “MX1.25” and “MX1.2” respectively. They are not intermateable, and a 6-circuit contact field accumulates the 0.05mm-per-position difference. KONNRA cross-references them as KR1200 (Pico-EZmate) and KR1250 / KR1251 (PicoBlade).

What is the KONNRA equivalent of the Molex Pico-EZmate?

The KONNRA KR1200 series — a 1.20mm pitch single-row wire-to-board connector documented from 2 to 7 positions at 1.5A and 50V, offered as a wafer, a housing and a crimp terminal.

How many circuits does the Pico-EZmate come in?

Molex documents the 1.20mm system as available in 2 to 6 circuits, and its catalogue lists housings in 3, 4 and 5 circuits and off-the-shelf cable assemblies in 2, 4, 5 and 6 circuits. KONNRA documents the KR1200 as 2~7P, one position wider — worth confirming before it reaches a drawing.

What is the mated height of the Pico-EZmate?

1.55mm for 2- to 5-circuit versions and 1.65mm for the 6-circuit version, measured from the PCB. KONNRA does not publish a mated height for the KR1200, so this is the first figure to confirm for your circuit count.

What is the current rating of the Pico-EZmate?

1.5A maximum per contact, at a maximum voltage of 50V AC (RMS)/DC. The rating is established with AWG #28 wire. Above 1.5A, Molex’s own answer is a different pitch: Pico-EZmate Plus at 1.00mm for 2.8A, or Pico-EZmate HC at 1.80mm for 5.0A.

What wire does the Pico-EZmate use?

AWG #28 to #30, with a wire insulation diameter of 0.60 to 0.70mm. Molex cites UL3302 as the cable style for the connector system and UL1571 on its off-the-shelf 1.20mm assemblies.

What is the dielectric withstanding voltage of the Pico-EZmate?

Molex specifies 500V AC dielectric withstanding voltage for the 1.20mm Pico-EZmate. Note that KONNRA’s KR1200 specification table states 50V AC / minute — which equals the connector’s rated voltage — while KONNRA’s own Overview text on the same page states 500V AC. The two KONNRA figures disagree; resolve it in writing if your specification calls for a dielectric test.

Is the Pico-EZmate vertical or right-angle?

The standard 1.20mm Pico-EZmate mates vertically — the receptacle housing pushes straight down onto an open-top header, which is what delivers the 1.55mm mated height. Molex’s 1.20mm header range also includes right-angle single-row headers, and KONNRA documents its KR1200 wafer as a right-angle SMT type, so confirm which geometry your part number uses.

What is the operating temperature range of the Pico-EZmate?

−40°C to +105°C. Molex’s 1.20mm receptacle housing data states this range and KONNRA documents the same figure for the KR1200.

Does the Pico-EZmate have a lock?

Yes — a friction lock between the receptacle housing and the header, with an audible click to confirm mating. Molex also specifies a polarizing key to prevent mismating. KONNRA’s data sheet describes the polarizing key but does not state the friction lock or the click, so confirm retention if it is critical to your design.

Can the Pico-EZmate carry 2.8A?

Not the 1.20mm version. The 1.20mm Pico-EZmate is rated 1.5A. The 2.8A rating belongs to Pico-EZmate Plus, which is a 1.00mm-pitch system — smaller, not larger. The 5.0A rating belongs to Pico-EZmate HC at 1.80mm on AWG #22–#24 wire.

What is the contact resistance and insulation resistance?

Contact resistance 20mΩ max and insulation resistance 100MΩ min — Molex and KONNRA document the same figures for the 1.20mm system, so these two parameters do not change when you cross-reference.

How long does it take to get samples?

KONNRA can deliver complete connector set samples within 45 days. Connector production lead time is typically 2–3 weeks and wiring harness lead time typically 3–4 weeks.

Start Your Cross-Reference Check

KONNRA supplies the KR1200 series as individual components or as complete pre-crimped cable assemblies, and builds adapter and transition harnesses to order.

  • Request a quote — KR1200 pricing, MOQ and configuration options for your circuit count and header geometry
  • Request a sample — complete connector set samples within 45 days
  • Request cross-reference verification — confirm KR1200-to-Pico-EZmate equivalence against your specific part number, including mated height and plating
  • Request drawings — series engineering drawing, product specification and package specification
  • Request a vendor qualification pack — certificates, test capability summary and quality documentation
  • Request adapter harnesses — Pico-EZmate to PicoBlade 1.25mm, Pico-EZmate to JST SH 1.00mm, or another interface on the far end
  • Submit a drawing for review — we will flag any specification mismatch before you commit tooling

Contact KONNRA Electronics

  • Phone: (86)-769-85449875
  • Email: info@konnra.com
  • Address: No.6 Nanchang South Road, Chijiao, Wangniudun, Dongguan, Guangdong, China
  • Contact us

➡️ Explore the full 1.2mm pitch range · Molex connector alternatives · Wire-to-board connector catalogue


Sources and method. Molex Pico-EZmate 1.20mm figures are taken from Molex’s published documentation: the 1.20mm system’s positioning as a compact, low-profile connector for miniature wire-to-board applications; the mated heights of 1.55mm for 2- to 5-circuit versions and 1.65mm for the 6-circuit version; the 2- to 6-circuit range; the friction lock between receptacle housing and header with an audible click; vertical mating; the polarizing key; the open-top receptacle header and open space on the header for pick-and-place; the feature and benefit list; electrical ratings of 1.5A maximum per contact and 50V AC (RMS)/DC maximum; the applicable wire of AWG #28 to #30 with insulation diameter of 0.60 to 0.70mm and cable style UL3302; contact resistance of 20mΩ max; dielectric withstanding voltage of 500V AC; insulation resistance of 100MΩ min; the LCP UL94V-0 housing material; copper alloy contacts; gold plating at 0.100µm minimum on mating and termination; embossed tape packaging; the −40°C to +105°C operating range; the 78172 receptacle housing series; the 78171 header series and its identification as the mating header for the 1.20mm assemblies; the 36920 off-the-shelf cable assembly series with its 50, 100, 150 and 600mm lengths and 2, 4, 5 and 6-circuit options; and the stated markets and industries. The Pico-EZmate Plus and Pico-EZmate HC figures (1.00mm/2.8A/AWG #28–30 and 1.80mm/5.0A/AWG #22–24 respectively) and the family pitch-and-mated-height comparison are taken from Molex’s published Pico-EZmate product family information. The JST SH and JST ZH figures in the comparison table are taken from JST’s own series documentation. KONNRA KR1200 specifications, component pages and download links are taken from KONNRA’s published product and component documentation. Where the two sources disagree, or where a figure differs between two places on the same source, the difference is stated in this guide rather than smoothed over. Always confirm final dimensional and electrical requirements against the current manufacturer drawing for your specific part number.